TOWN OF WESTMINSTER

Town Government Study Committee (TGSC)

Meeting Minutes for October 13, 2016

Members Present: Adam Collette, Dan Gilbreath, John Fairbanks, Roy Hughes, Connor Robichaud, Lisa Rocheleau, Jon Wyman, Wayne

Walker

Members Absent: Dan Bartkus

Guest speakers: Julie Jacobsen, Town Manager of Auburn

At 7pm, the meeting began with a presentation from Julie Jacobsen, the Town Manager of Auburn. She took that job right after major charter changes passed in Auburn in 2009. She then listed the town's reasons for the charter. She cited a decentralized government structure in which employees answered to various elected commissions; this led to inconsistent employee policies, resources not being shared effectively, and poor organizational communication. The charter condensed 25 departments into 9 with a Town Manager at the top of their new hierarchical government structure. Ms. Jacobsen said that having the authority to make and carry out important decisions has allowed her to make necessary changes in Auburn. Ultimately, this has meant Auburn using its resources in a more efficient and focused manor, saving the town a great deal of money.

After Ms. Jacobsen left, the group moved on to finding a replacement clerk. Connor Robichaud, Town Government Study Committee member and clerk, does not plan to be a resident of Westminster through the duration of the Committee's mission and is therefore stepping down. Dan Gilbreath volunteered for the position of clerk, Wayne Walker made a motion for his appointment and Adam Collette seconded; the motion passed unanimously.

Jon Wyman made a motion to approve the last meeting's minutes and Lisa Rocheleau seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously and the minutes were approved.

The next meetings are set for October 27 at 6pm and November 17 at 7pm.

Connor Robichaud made a motion to adjourn at 8:25pm; Wayne Walker seconded the motion and it unanimously approved.

Submitted by:

CONNOR ROBICHAUD

Clerk, Town Government Study Committee