The Westminster Police Department offers free Child Passenger Safety seat checks during various times and days throughout the week. You can set up an appointment with a trained, certified technician by calling the station at (978) 874-2900. The officer trained in passenger safety also does presentations for school and parent groups, birthing classes and for other agencies.
MA Child Passenger Safety Law
Massachusetts State Law requires all children under 40 pounds or 5 years of age to be restrained in a child safety seat. State law then requires all children to be "properly restrained". Parents and care givers should be aware that at 5 year and 40 pounds an adult seat belt alone will not "properly restrain" a child. A child should be using a booster seat in conjunction with an adult lap and shoulder belt until they are 4'9" tall.
Child Passenger Safety Recommendation
The Massachusetts Law requires children to ride in child passenger restraints until they are 5 years old and weigh 40 pounds.
- Always follow manufacturers' instructions when installing a child safety seat.
- Infants up to 20 pounds and 1 year old should ride in a rear-facing child safety seat.
- Children in rear-facing child safety seats should never be placed in the front seat of vehicles with a passenger-side air bag. An inflating air bag striking a rear-facing child safety seat can result in death or severe injury.
- Children who weigh more than 20 pounds and who are 1 year of age or older may ride ina forward facing child safety seat.
- Children between 40 and 80 pounds, and less than 4'9" tall, should ride in a booster seat. A booster seat helps the seat belt to fit correctly and safety and gives children more comfort and visibility.