Planning Board

Please note that the Planning Board agendas for Tuesday August 7th and Tuesday August 14th are full. The Planning Board will not be meeting per their usual schedule on Tuesday August 28, so the next available Planning Board meeting for new applications will be Tuesday September 11, 2018.


What's New……


The Planning Board is proposing four zoning amendments for the November Town Meeting (yet to be scheduled). To review the zoning amendments just click on them and they will open.



  • Revisions to the Zoning Bylaw's cluster housing provision (click here).

  • Rezone three properties on Overlook Road (click here).

  • New bylaw regulating recreational marijuana (click here).

  • A ban on retail sales of recreational marijuana (click here).

Further, the Planning Board is working on two zoning amendments for the Annual Town Meeting next May:



As always, the Planning Board welcomes feedback from interested citizens. You can contact the Planning office via phone or e-mail, send the Planning Board your written comments, or stop by one of our meetings and give us your feedback in person.


Westminster Planning Board



Planning Board Roles The Planning Board is responsible for reviewing and approving divisions of land either through the Subdivision Plan Approval process or the Approval Not Required (ANR) process under Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 41. The Planning Board also reviews and approves new commercial, industrial and multi-family residential development projects through the Site Plan Approval process. The Planning Board is also the Special Permit Granting Authority (SPGA) for cluster residential developments and adult uses. The Planning Board is also charged with preparing and implementing the Town of Westminster’s Master Plan, which is the community’s long-range plan for the physical development of its landscape.


Name Title
Jon Wyman Chair (term exp. 2018)
Marie N. Auger Vice-Chair (term exp. 2020)
Andrew Rice Member (term exp. 2019)
Linda Wiest Member (term exp. 2019)
Dan Barkus Member (term exp. 2021)