Fire Department

PSBC Site Selection


About the Department

The Westminster Fire Department currently has fifteen fulltime personnel.  The Fire Chief, Deputy Chief and Administrator/EMT-B work a weekday administrative schedule. While the additional twelve members, consisting of four Lieutenants and eight Firefighters, are divided between four groups that work rotating shifts to cover the town 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.  Each group consists of one Lieutenant and two fulltime Firefighters who are supplemented by one per-diem Firefighter bringing the on duty shift strength to four each day.  The on duty shift receives support for larger incidents and multiple incidents by our on-call members who respond in from their homes when available to assist. 

The Department is broken into 4 service divisions, as the table below shows. Department members can elect to participate in one or more divisions.

Fire Services: Responsible for all planning and delivery of Fire Suppression, Fire Prevention, Fire Investigation, Public Fire Education, and non-EMS emergency situations, such as Hazardous Material responses.

EMS Services: Responsible for all planning and delivery of Emergency Medical services.

Support Services: Responsible for supplying support to both the Fire and EMS Services Divisions, as well as delivering technical specialties. Specific responsibilities include planning and management of the lighting trailer, boat and delivering specialties such as warm and cold water rescue, high and low angle rescue, and confined space rescue.

Emergency Management: Headed up by the Chief, who is also the town's Emergency Management Director. The Director and other positions are appointed by the Board of Selectmen and are responsible for creating and maintaining the Emergency Management Plan for the town and providing for working across agencies in resolving disaster emergencies.

Listen to us and other area agencies by clicking below.

Staff Contacts

Name Title
Kyle Butterfield Fire Chief
Karen Long Department Administrator
Adam Bean Deputy Chief